« Mmm. That is a Tasty Burger! | Main | Talk to the Handheld Girlfriend! »

Spamvertized Denied

spam canThanks to Jay Allen's wonderfull MT-Blacklist plug-in I have automatically blocked the following comment spam this month alone. Wo-hoo!

61.181.5.49 MT-Blacklist comment denial: e-order-propecia.com
209.208.9.254 MT-Blacklist comment denial: cheap-adipex.org
217.26.240.61 MT-Blacklist comment denial: fda.gov
64.72.132.17 MT-Blacklist comment denial: e-order-propecia.com
64.72.132.17 MT-Blacklist comment denial: [\w\-_.]*viagra[\w\-_.]*.[a-z]+
64.72.132.17 MT-Blacklist comment denial: penis[_.\-]?enlargement([\w_.\-]+)?\.\w+
217.26.240.61 MT-Blacklist comment denial: [\w\-_.]*phentermine[\w\-_.]*.[a-z]+
66.154.0.40 MT-Blacklist comment denial: 00000-online-casino.com
140.178.33.123 MT-Blacklist comment denial: .ParisTheTees.com

If you try to post comment spam with these and hundred other URLs they will be blocked and news sites being spamvertized can be blocked in record time.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Icon of JakeJake at November 12, 2003  WebDev

Trackback Pings

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.8bitjoystick.com/cgi-bin/mtype/mt-tb.cgi/443

Comments

What did the fda do?

Posted by: LaMiNaToR at November 12, 2003 7:39 PM

I think it was either a test or someone trying to sell how to pass drug test guides.

Posted by: Jake at November 12, 2003 10:33 PM

Lucky. I can't install new perl modules on my server, so I have to delete them manually. :(

Posted by: jason at November 13, 2003 7:02 AM

I got the FDA spam as well (which I nuked with mt-blacklist). It simply said, "Nice comments guys" and then has a link with the href set to fda.org and the word "fda" as the link text. This was in a post about HTML and RSS, which, as far as I can tell, has nothing to do with FDA related activities.

I've heard that many bloggers are getting FDA spammed as well. It's pretty weird imho.

Posted by: Dan at November 13, 2003 7:48 AM

That is strange... I would think that a government organization would use there own web page for advertisments and not spam.

Posted by: LaMiNaToR at November 13, 2003 3:39 PM

I doubt that the FDA was sending the spam but more likely the person developing the comment spamming scripts probably used it as a test spam

Posted by: Jake at November 13, 2003 3:48 PM

I don't terribly mind blacklists such as this except when they go terribly terribly wrong. Just rescently my highschool was blacklisted on slashdot.org. This is a pain because now It is harder to slack off in Cisco (networking class)

Posted by: LaMiNaToR at November 13, 2003 4:07 PM

Well this is not a black list of people who can post to this domain it examines the URLs mentioned in a post. For example some one from a domain can post but if they post a link to sites of know spammers it will be blocked.

Posted by: Jake at November 13, 2003 4:25 PM

I think the real purpose of these spams is to improve their placement in search engine results. The more sites containing links to their URL, the higher it gets listed.

gorfmaster
crap@austinpublicskatepark.org

Posted by: gorfmaster at November 14, 2003 1:11 AM

Yeah that is right. It gets me when I see a spammer site listed on the Blogdex.

Posted by: Jake at November 14, 2003 9:22 AM

I'm just a casual websurfer and I have seen this darn spammer had spammed something like 14,000 other message boards!

There is some light at the end of the tunnel, though. I see on the new that AOL has started cracking down with the arrest and prosecution of two spam kingpins in Virginia. Hopefully these two spammers will get sent to jail where they can receive the benefits of penis enlargement firsthand!

Posted by: Ken Layton at December 14, 2003 11:21 AM

I don't think the goverment and law inforcement will be able to do anything about it. I think the solution lies with software

Posted by: Jake at December 14, 2003 1:25 PM

The spammers from "217.26.240.61" and "206.161.194.126" are now using "205.252.160.97" so it should get put on the blacklist.

Posted by: Ken Layton at December 24, 2003 10:26 AM

MT blacklist does not filter IPs but rather sites that Spammers are trying to promote.

Posted by: Jake at December 24, 2003 10:47 AM